Full Library Sharing

There are many good reasons to share your full research library with colleagues and peers.
If you only want to share references without attachments then use Group sharing there are no
limitations to the number of users with group sharing.

If you want to Sync your library to your other devices then: Sync with EndNote Online.

How it works:

  • You can include anyone who’s using EndNote X7.2 (up to 14 people, plus yourself).
  • EndNote X8 allows sharing for up to 100 users. X8 includes an Activity Feed.
  • The feed shows who made which changes and when. Not available in X7.
  • Share your entire EndNote library, including references, PDFs, and annotations
  • Everyone can add to, annotate and use the library – at the same time
  • You must have an active EndNote Online account
  • You can only share one library at a time. This is the library you will be syncing to your On-line account
  • You are basically sharing your Online account with the other users.
  • Full share
  • All the other users can sync to their own Online accounts, this will not affect the shared library.
  • You will be giving full access to your library and all attachments

See the video

Trying out for the first time? BACK-UP your library...

REMEMBER: if you are the owner of the shared library, DO NOT share with yourself. You should be syncing a new blank library if you want to access from another machine.

Make sure you have at least version X7.2 installed.

Help menu (PC) EndNote X7 menu (Mac) > Check for Updates... ,

Create / Open the library you wish to share File > Share...

Share

Invite user(s) to share your library:

Invite

An e-mail is sent with a link to accept and start sharing. Each user must have at least X7.2 installed.
X7 users can only share with up to 14 users, this can include X8 users.

The initial invite can be any e-mail address, but to accept the user must log-in with their
EndNote On-line e-mail and password.

Once accepted the user will show as an active member in the sharing window:

Accept

Sharing a Word Document with the shared library

When sharing a Word document between users with a shared library, send a formatted copy of the document. When receiving the formatted document do not un-format, keep instant formatting on. If you need un-format, run the Update Citations and Bibliography first.

Sharing document

This will ensure that the record numbers match the local copy of the library. The references may look the same in the shared library BUT the record numbers may vary.